Network Solutions Caught Red-Handed
By Ryan on Wednesday 16 January 2008, 10:23 - Internet - Permalink
Have you ever gone to register a domain name, only to discover that that between the time you made your whois search (perhaps you looked it up during your lunch break at work), and the time that you purchased it (say, when you came home in the evening), that the domain name was suddenly no longer available? That the domain name you once thought could be yours for 12 euros at Gandi was now being sold on a restricted basis for a higher price and at a different registrar?
What happened?
"Front running" is a term to describe what occurs when an unscrupulous system logs the domain name searches that you type into a whois search engine, and if the domain name is available, the system automatically registers the domain name for itself. For what purpose? For selling the domain name at a higher price, and for only their customers...
It has just been publicly acknowledged that Network Solutions engages in just this practice.
Incredible. If you go to Network Solutions' website and enter any domain name in their whois search engine, it will be automatically registered with Network Solutions as the owner and contacts. Then, if you try to register the domain name at a later time (within 5 days), you will only be able to register it at Network Solutions, and at a higher price than normal!
The excuse given by Network Solutions is that - if you can believe it - is that they are doing this to protect their customers. As far as I know, however, one does not become a customer by simply doing a whois search, and I hardly see how the practice of front running protects one from front runners...
Though there are now many bloggers and reporters discussing this, you can read about it in more detail here, and see an example of this being done before your eyes.
Needless to say, Gandi does not engage in this practice. Anyone is free to search domains using our whois search engine with the knowledge that we will never go behind your back to steal your domain and try and sell it at a higher price to you, or the best bidder. Want proof? Use our whois search engine to test random domains - you will see that they will remain free
We will be happy to answer any of your questions regarding this, and welcome any discussion regarding domain name registration or the whois database. Has something like this happened to you before? Please share your story!
Comments
I always suspected this with NetSol and that is exactly why I always use Gandi to check the domains
Thanks for 'doing no evil'!
Registerfly is a perfect example of the arrogance and ethics that have taken hold of the industry (you can follow the case on the ICANN blog). Personally, I had a few domains with them, but got out, after some effort, before things truly fell apart. To add insult to injury, they continue to send several renewal emails a day for domains that have not been under their dubious management for over a year! Even the quality of their spam is thus lacking.
Registrars need to get involved with a governing body (not ICANN, aka the US Dept. of Commerce and Fraud) to introduce some accountability. Otherwise, it's the subprime saga all over again -- no oversight, quick profits for the few, and meltdown.
Thanks for the great post! I've always trusted Gandi with domain name lookups and have steered away from NetSol and other companies that, because of their overload on advertisements and multiple upcharging opportunities, appear greedy for my money. After reading this, I'm glad I have followed my intuition.
Lets see what they do with THIS domain name search??? Could be a bit embarassing if they buy them for themselves!!!!
frontrunning
networksolutionsripoff
networksolutionsscruples
networksolutionsdomainscam
netsolscam
netsoldomainnamescam
fronttrunningripoff
Just try this one !
http://www.gandhi.net/
A+
Hi,
You can believe it!
The trouble I had trying to get a domain name transfer to Gandi.net from Network Solutions. They (Network Solutions) nearly had me in a fit. Endless hours on the phone to United States talking and emailing DNS-admins who did not, and would not release the glue records. So... When I heard this news I could well believe it. Bunch of crooks.
J.
This is why I love Gandi. True quality service... I bought my first domains with them and never tried elsewhere.
This post's comments feed